Fernando Luís Tavares de Távora was born in Oporto in 1923. He was a remarkable Portuguese architect, graduated from the Fine Arts School of Oporto (ESBAP).
Between 1946 and 1947 carried out several projects on major composition, general construction, decorative composition, archeology and urbanization. Member of the Modern Architects Organization introduced, at that time, in association with other architects, a reflection that had no precedent in Portugal on the social architecture corollary, as opposed to outputs and official discourses of the time. As the creator of a new construction logic, emphasized the unique landscapes, using them as cultural data to be integrated into the dialogue with the architecture. He helped to install the Faculty of Architecture of Oporto and taught at ESBAP. Of his architectural projects we remember the Public Market, in Santa Maria da Feira (1953-59); the Tennis Pavilion of Quinta da Conceição, in Matosinhos (1956-1960); the Holiday House of the Ofir pine forest, in Fão (1957-1958); the expansion of the National Assembly facilities, in Lisbon (1994-1999); and the Town Hall / House of 24, in Oporto (1995-2002). In the heritage conservation area, he left unmatched works, as the Santa Marinha da Costa Convent recovery and its transformation into an Hostel (1975-1984); the Historic Centre of Guimarães rediscovery and rehabilitation (1985-1992), classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, in 2001; the Soares dos Reis National Museum remodeling and expansion (1988-2001); the Freixo Palace and surrounding areas restoration, in Oporto (1996-2003).
Today there is an architecture prize with his name – the Fernando Távora Prize.
He died in 2005, in Matosinhos.